Thank You for Saving His Life

Recently, while scrolling through social media, I stumbled across a clip of a woman who had lost her husband in a horrible accident and was looking for the team of doctors, nurses and caregivers that saved her infant son.

I was so moved that I watched this clip with tears rolling down my face, thinking back to the numerous doctors and nurses that saved my sons life.

In the moment that they are going through the treatments you are grateful to the team taking such good care of your baby but you are so focused on the needs of that baby that you don’t think to really stop and thank the team.

I knew then and I know now that had the doctors and nurses and child-life teams and the social workers and the therapists not been there, that Braxton would not be here today. I am so thankful for them.

One doctor, in particular, always stands out in my mind, because Braxton’s rapid treatment and essentially his rapid response goes back to him.
I knew that there was something seriously wrong with him when I carried him into Archdale Pediatrics that day but I wasn’t sure what and I never would have imagined the later outcome of the day. That day in the pediatricians office still stands out so clear in my mind and I can still see it as if I was living it today.

Dr. Dan Entwistle was the pediatrician that took care of Braxton that day. He was thorough, soft spoken, patient and caring and he was determined to find out what was making our boy so sick that day. He constantly reassured us, held our hands {literally}, he sent us immediately for further testing and then later when HE called us to tell us to go directly to Brenner Children’s Hospital because they were VERY concerned with his blood work, he paused…. he said “I would like to pray with you before you head to the hospital.” I paused because this was not what I had expected. With silent tears flowing down my face, I listened to him ask for comfort, ask God to give the doctors wisdom, he prayed that God would be with us through whatever was to transpire and then when he was finished praying he told me that he believed it was going to work out fine and that Braxton was in the best of care and that God had great things in store for him later.

I do not know if I ever had the chance to thank him for all that he did that day so today I am saying “thank you”.

10391869_319391110366_7995412_n

2009

As a mama, those words were what I would cling to in the coming days and weeks and months and years.

He came to visit Braxton that first week in the hospital and brought him a giraffe because it reminded him of the giraffes he saw being a missionary in Africa. I believe now more than ever that God knew exactly who to put in that small pediatricians office that day. I believe that God placed Dr. Entwistle there to comfort us in that scary time. I believe his fast thinking and his persistence that day saved our little boy. Leading him to amazing Oncology teams and the best nurses. For that I say thank you to the doctor that started all of Braxton’s healing.

I will forever be thankful, grateful and blessed, to have had the very best teams on our side through that chapter of our lives.

15972512_10158078516720367_3816078735472880039_o

 

blog signature

Leave a Reply

