A spot of tea

Norah Jones is crooning in the back ground, the tea that I made earlier has been reheated and finally I am sitting down to enjoy it. The hum of the dishwasher silently says “well done,mama, well done.

Today has been a Monday of Tuesdays. The Labor Day holiday did me in. We trekked an hour and a half to a small town in Ohio to go to a Renaissance Festival on the hottest day of the summer. The Barber got sick from a heat and turkey leg combo, so we called it quit early and headed back home. And let me just say there were some… characters at this event. No offense to anyone that may frequent this event yearly but regardless of the temps outside clothes that cover ones body appropriately are a GREAT idea. I will say that it made for GREAT “people watching” that was somewhat more entertaining than the jousting. On top of all that fun,  I have been fighting this monster of a sinus infection for over a week and I am ready to not feel like a Zombie again.

Alexander, decided that today was a great day to show those “not so good three’s” and he didn’t quite make it completely crazy but man, oh man, did he come close. The baby is really pushing this mama bear lately. He has decided that “naps are for sissy’s and my ain’t a sissy” and that he is a scurvy pirate and they don’t need naps AT ALL!

However, come 4:30 in the afternoon that pirate most certainly needed a nap! {for his own safety} He has also decided that grasshoppers make FABULOUS indoor pets! Ummm don’t think so killer!! So after chasing it around it was captured and sent back to his natural home.

14138595_10157400677215367_2031777864676031601_o

Being a mama of boys is not for the squeamish that. is. for. sure.

Tonight we had spaghetti, Caleb’s all time favorite. And NO one seemed to be happy with the dinner before them {except for the scurvy pirate, he lapped it up} …. and that was all it took for me.

I have a “don’t say ewwww” policy that I am strict by cause I believe it’s rude and that’s how my mama raised me and lately I have added the “don’t complain either” amendment. UGH!! nothing worse than sitting down for probably the first time all day only to have EVERYONE {but the pirate} complain. So the hammer was dropped and they sat there until plates were cleared…. solely on principal. No dessert was handed out and I can almost guarantee there will be little to no complaining in the future.

Now, they are all snug in their beds  and sweet as pie and I am sitting back telling myself just how awesome I am, and having a long chat with Jesus because I know that He will listen to me when the rest of the house seems to have a tunnel from ear to ear.

blog signature

Leave a Reply

