Crazy days and Thursdays….

 

It’s gonna rain.

It’s windy.

It’s gloomy.

It’s down right nasty looking outside.

I have 8!!!! children under the age of 10 in my tiny house. {4 that are mine ;)}

I have had 4 cups of coffee… I’m sure I will need another.

I sent them out to play before the downpour  because I could see a catastrophe unfolding.

I am a switch toting {mostly for looks because I am not scary AT ALL}, crazy mama, my house isn’t spotless….EVER! My laundry is usually behind. There are always dishes to be done. I am constantly hearing the chorus of MOOOOOOMMMMM!!!!! From the bathroom and our favorite place to go is the …. Library, because we are wild and crazy like that. On the rare occasions that I am away from them I miss this life terribly. I miss the toys in the floor, the yelling down the hall. I miss the funny things they say and I can’t pretend that it isn’t what makes my life go round and keeps me humble and grounded.

Talking to a friend the other day, she said ” toys in the hall and laughing kids mean that no one is sick and everyone’s happy and here”. I couldn’t agree more.

We recently attended 2 different funerals and this usually leaves me thinking about the smaller, often forgotten aspects of my life. It makes me slow down and hug a little tighter, listen a little closer and smile a little more.

One of my greatest joys is being a mom. Yes, it’s crazy and I work harder now than I ever did working a 12 hour shift in a hospital. I get little to no adult conversation most days and rarely get out of my pajamas and I am unable to get a spotless home at this point. But at the end of the day when everything is back in its respective place and the kids are all tucked in at night and the house is eerily quite, I sit back with a cup of tea and enjoy the moment of simple and thank God for giving me the chaos.

If you would have asked me 6 years ago if I enjoyed cooking or baking or staying home with my kids all day or even if I could imagine having more than 2 kids I would have said no. But sometimes, God has a different plan, a better plan than what you had envisioned for yourself. I am so thankful that I listened to that still small voice and found my place as … mom. IMG_20160320_182901

Leave a Reply

